Over the course of the past few years, I watched at least one movie every day. I did this for me. I did this to challenge myself to start the year with a somewhat ambitious, but achievable goal. But in the process, I found that there were days where something positive happened to me even on the worst of moments.
In continuing this journey, I found it grounds me and gives me something to look forward to. Sometimes there are moments where the movies I watch are wondrous escapes from the harsh reality, and other times they are struggles in and of themselves, but this tradition is something I’ve found a comfort in, something I’ve found a single joy in each day.
This is how I found a Little Joy in May.
I watched at least one movie every day in May. I documented 31 of those movies. 28 of those documented I had never seen before.
These were the 3 I found the most joy in:

  1. Clerks III

I love the work of Kevin Smith and this was such a beautiful celebration of his start as a filmmaker but also the weird and wild movie universe he has created with all of its eccentric and hilarious characters and stories. Clerks is the crown jewel in the Viewaskew movie universe and this third entry is a wonderful reminder of why.

  1. Léon: The Professional

I have a long list of movies I had just never watched but wanted to and this was among them. The stunning performances from Jean Reno, Gary Oldman, and a standout introduction to a young Natalie Portman tells a story of a tough, not so nice guy, doing the right thing for a young protégé and mentee when she needs him the most. Action, heart, and all around fantastic storytelling fill this movie to the brim.

  1. Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3

Trilogies are hard to make, and trilogies where the third film is the best one are rare and beautiful things. James Gunn made the best trilogy in the MCU with a rare and beautiful movie that tells the story of misfits, finding each other, and learning to become better than they ever thought possible. This movie had me sitting, wanting to be more than I am, longing to show the world my true value, and inspired so much thoughtful love and joy that it just goes to show some stories, not matter how wild, are well worth telling.
And that is how I found a Little Joy in May.

Leave a comment