I’m gonna dive a little deep and a lot personal on this one. But It’s for a good reason. I’m gonna do more movie analysis. Much like my Five Favorite Movies (more 5 favorite posts coming I promise) this post is about taking movies that impacted me and figuring out why they did so. So let’s go!

go

Bike Moose is the best moose!

This idea was started by Mikey Neumann, who operates the YouTube channel FilmJoy. Check it out Here:
FilmJoy

Mikey’s series Movies With Mikey is a deep and powerful look at the way that the art of film affects us as people, especially taking time to dive into movies that shake the popular culture and most recently he did an episode entitled ‘Lessons Animation Taught Us’. He breaks down four of the films that impacted him and the lessons he took away from those movies. He then called other youtubers and film critics to give their own takes on the subject of animation. So I decided, even though I don’t have a YouTube channel, to do the same. Here are 4 of the most influential movies in my childhood and what new insights I walked away from them with. Here we go!

BATBPoster

Beauty and the Beast

Ok. I know I already talked about Beauty and the Beast in my 5 Favorites post. But this movie has had such an impact on me throughout my life. The year is 1991. I am 1 year old. My parents bequeath me my first cinematic experience in faraway land where a young prince lives in a shining castle and the experience sticks with me for many years allowing me to watch it over and over again. And here is what stands out when you are that young and obsessed with a movie featuring dancing silverware.

be our guest

Aside from the Dinners in France are never second best, of course.

Dreams can come true. Now jump forward 25 years and add the clause, if you work hard enough to achieve them. Beauty and the beast set forward the first big dream my little life ever had. I had something to work towards for a quarter of a century and when I finally achieved that dream I will admit I felt lost and confused and unsure of what my purpose in life was and that is something I still wrestle with because I was a dog chasing my tail and when I caught it I had nowhere to go once I caught it.

chase tail

Me in October of 2016.

But beyond that I remember rewatching this movie at a young age and picking up on the importance of the characters and the motifs, albeit on a very basic level. The movie paints a simple picture. You get that Gaston is a jerk right out the gate, and the way he talks to and about Belle tells us that she doesn’t need, nor should she want, to marry him. Later on we see that the Beast is also a jerk but the way they spin his jerkiness is much more nuanced and that he has more to why he is unable to talk to people in a polite and normal way. The Beast has regret in his past, and Gaston has only arrogance. Though they are both rude, aggressive, and downright monstrous at times, the Beast has a way back from the darkness and Gaston does not.

gaston

^Toxic Masculinity

At an age where I didn’t even know how to tie my own shoes I learned that women are not to be controlled, they are to be respected and that is what separates the Beast from Gaston. The most honest line in this whole film is when Belle looks Gaston right in the face and tells him that the Beast is “not the monster, you are!” Gaston is a toxic vile human who has a whole town wrapped around his finger because he’s that old school idea of what it means to be a man, and the movie teaches us that the old school idea is completely false. And we see examples of how to how overcome the old school ideas from every other man in Belle’s life: Maurice, Lumiere, Cogsworth, and even in his worst moments, the Beast.

beast

More respect for women then some actual men of today!

The truth is, this whole movie is a feminist statement decades ahead of its time. The Beast is an allegory for the change not only men, but society as a whole need to go through. He not only has to love Belle, he has to respect her enough to earn her love in return and in order to do that he has to literally cast off all ideas of Toxic Masculinity and allow Belle to be her own independent person. And when you go back and look at the film he is the only one who does that, even from the start of the film. The towns folk treat her as a oddball. Her father thinks she needs to be protected. Even the castle staff want to make sure her emotions aren’t hurt and work to protect her feelings from the harsher side of the Beast. But the Beast treats her as an equal. He gives her respect and as their relationship grows he only grows in his respect until he literally gives her freedom, or independence. Women are not to be made into indentured servants, they are equals who deseve to be treated with respect. I learned this at 1, even if I didn’t know it then. Treat others right and respect each as if they were yourself. It’s not a hard concept and I think everyone could rewatch this movie and see it from a new angle about how Belle ends up with the man who treats her the way she deserves to be treated. Not because she’s done anything special, because she’s a person and deserves respect just for being a person.

belle

Pictured: A person, who is to be respected no differently than anyone else.

Now, let’s jump forward a few years.

pokemon the first movie

Pokemon: The First Movie

Deep cuts coming, especially for the 90’s kids. I’m 9 years old and for the past year, Pokemon has been consuming my life. I had Pokemon Blue on my Gameboy Color that I saved all my money to be able to buy, I had the Trading Cards, watched the TV show any chance I could get and then they announced a full length feature film, and my 9 year old brain went bananas!

Banana brain

Not quite like that.

Now here is the thing about this movie. The message of the movie is not something that should be aimed at children. It is a dramatic self discovery piece about Nature vs. Nurture. Mewtwo has to learn that he is not destined to spend his life as a world shattering monster just because he was created by people who hoped he would be that way. And in the same way we are not the people our parents raise us to be. We can learn from them but ultimately we get to choose our paths and go forth into the world independently. Which is super deep for a kids film based on a game about sci-fantasy cock fighting.

pokemon battle

Also, bold statement, Ash Ketchum is the worst pokemon trainer in the entire pokemon TV series. There I said it!

Mewtwo is a unique and dangerous character in this universe. He was not born, he was bred in order to become the strongest and most powerful Pokemon in the universe. When he learns his creators want to turn him into a weapon he escapes by destroying their land and returns to a desolate island where he plots to destroy all humans for the actions of a few. Now Mewtwo is a perfect example of the sort of cultural extremism we currently experience on a regular basis. Nothing is moderate and everything is either on the right side or the wrong side. If something is out to get you the only rational way to deal with it is to destroy it or remove it from the equation before it can end up making things worse.

mewtwo

Pokemon, surprisingly political.

But we go beyond Mewtwo’s initial reaction. He begins cloning Pokemon, capturing those around the island in a massive storm and deciding that only those who are strong are worthy of surviving. What becomes clear is that Mewtwo is becoming the vicious monster he is trying not to be. He’s pulling an Oedipal allegory, without the mom sex, but actually with some attempted dad murder so…not too far off.

mew

Dad is rather adorable in this case.

Mewtwo has to literally petrify a 10 year old boy to realize the value of all life. But beyond that he has to learn that he is not what he was created to be. Here is the thing, when you rewatch a movie you connected with as a child at an age where you are going through your own rediscovery you notice some important details. Mewtwo, like many young people entering adulthood, have to discover who he is an individual who is not controlled by those who created him. Many young adults entering college have to rediscover their purpose in the world and sometimes, learn that the things they grew up believing, aren’t the things they want to believe any more. Mewtwo is an adolescent entering adulthood. He’s finding that his “parent’s” expectations for him are not his own. And his life is his own as well, not the life those who made and raised him want it to be.

ash

Pokeparents are even worse than regular parents.

Pikachu is the perfect example of this, he refuses to fight against his clone even when everyone else is doing so. He stands like a tiny yellow Jesus and takes his punishment to help show the world the way to salvation. He defies the expectations for himself and Ash, albeit a terrible Pokemon trainer, is a really good example of a “parent” allowing his “child” to act as their own individual, he does it regularly by not confining Pikachu to a Pokeball when he expresses disinterest. The truth is even in a world where these creatures are designed to assist humans and fight on behalf of them, one little guy shows that he does so because he genuinely wants to and not because society and those who raised him say he has to. Pikachu is a shining example and we learn from his actions that everyone gets to write their own story, no other person can write it for us. Mewtwo learns this when his own parent Mew comes to reprimand him but he doesn’t truly see the real danger of his action until he turns Ash to stone as Ash defends his Pikachu from the onslaught on those around him. They all see Ash’s actions and realize that they are divided against each other and there was no reason to fight. They all want the same thing, harmony and unity between all people and creatures. And Mewtwo discovers that he is not what he was man to be by others. His destiny is his alone.

pikachu

Turns out progressive leaders can be pretty adorable.

We’ve gone deep, but now we’re decending even further down the rabbit-hole.

incredibles

The Incredibles

We spring forward 5 years. A 14 year old superhero obsessed child goes to see an original movie about a family of superheroes and has a fun adventure. 10 years later a 24 year old watches one of his favorite childhood films and discovers that the movie seems to relate even more to him now than it did when he was a child. And that’s the major secret of the Incredibles. It grows with you the older you are when you watch it. Through the struggles of each of the individual Parr family members, everyone has someone they can relate to and even moments where minor characters stand out and connect with the audience. The Icredibles is rich with moments to take away, so let’s dig in.

Syndrome

I know this post is getting long but I think it’s for a good reason.

I discovered the Incredibles at that age when most of us have to wrestle with crippling hormones and a constant self doubt. Which is exactly how Violet feels. And her powers reflect that; she has two abilities: to hide, and to keep others out of her, in this case literal bubble. Obviously, there is a reason I was connecting on an emotional level with the struggle of a fictional teenage girl. I too wanted to avoid people from noticing me and getting too close because I was wrestling with my own self-esteem and self identity. And Violet’s journey through the movie is learning that she is using her powers incorrectly. She isn’t supposed to keep people out but protect those around her. She isn’t supposed to hide but get through those who would put her down and come out stronger for it. Violet Parr is a symbol of growth as a teenager and embracing your quirks in order to turn them into strength.

Violet

Manic Teenage Pixie Badass!

Conversely, Dash is a child working to be seen as responsible and independent. A place where I know I was at that preteen age. Dash spends most of the movie wanting to be taken seriously and allowed to embrace his natural gifts. Parents want to protect their children, which is an admirable cause, but if that protection causes them to be stifled and feel like they can’t stretch and grow then it is too much. I know my childhood was a safe one, but I had a lot of desire to find my independence. I learned that much later than others in my life and when I was finally allowed to grow, I ran with it. (Pun very intended) Dash is the same way. It’s not until they are on the island and he is racing around defeating the hovercraft that he finally feels like he can be himself, and in doing so he shows his parents his true potential, control, and maturity. Dash shows that just because he is young doesn’t mean he can do great things. I think if we invest in the future in the same way, the world will be stronger. Dash shows us the power of this and is a role model for children and parents alike.

Dash

Also, Dash has my favorite power of all the Incredibles…not that it’s any consequence to this post though.

Moving to the parents. Helen is a reflection of coming into your own as an adult. She’s constantly stretching between all the things in her life, her marriage, her children, her duties around the house, all while feeling unfulfilled by the fact that she was once more than she is now. I felt this dramatically when I graduated from college. I went from a world where I could constantly stretch and grow creatively without having to worry about those around me, to suddenly having to find time to do these things while making sure I put in the time for my responsibilities to my job, my family, and even my personal health and fitness. In the same way I felt I wasn’t able to do the things creatively that I used to be able to. So I felt unsatisfied and stretched to thin until I was a sad fraction of what I wanted to be. Helen finally comes together later when she learns that she’s actually the one thing holding the family together, she finds her purpose by working with those around her and seeing that she is still as important as she once was, possibly more so because of how she works with her husband and children. I felt that too when I found my own family of collaborators who allowed me to stretch my own passions. You can find the time to live the life you want to. Helen Parr shows us this.

elastigirl.jpg

Supermom’s are all moms, let’s be honest about that.

The final part to ensure the movie ages with us is through Bob. Bob shows that midlife crisis aspect of humanity perfectly. He sits in his job he had to take to protect and provide for those he loves and hates where his life has gone. He has regret, and wish fulfillment fantasies, and the feeling that his life is not worth anything because he isn’t living up to his potential. And, like many of us, he hits a point where he decides that he has to give up being the support for everyone else around him and do what he wants. What Bob doesn’t realize until later is that his job is to strengthen his family further, not bear all the weight of holding them up and ensuring they are protected and supported. Bob learns that he is also a part of that family and it’s ok to ask those around you for help. And it takes Bob the unfortunate turn of getting captured and nearly killed to learn that his family is strong regardless of his place in it, and he can take that time for himself, he can go achieve his dreams, and they will support him, just as he has supported them. Bob’s struggles, though manifested in super-heroics in the film, are incredibly human.

Mr Incredible

I also love how Bob’s fitness reflects his age. Goodness, this movie is incredible! (See what I did there?)

And even smaller characters teach things. Syndrome shows the danger of obsession with others. Frozone is the otherside of Bob’s argument, the man who feels unfulfilled by his life and has to find his place in society. Edna is a reflection of a career woman who has made herself into the person she longs to be, contrasting the struggle of both Parr parents. Rick is the notion that those we long to help cannot, ultimately, be controlled and sometimes you have to work with people to get them to help you, and Mirage is the idea that not everyone is what they seem, some people are genuine in their virtues even if they don’t seem to be at first. The whole movie is a reflection of life, wrapped up in a superhero colored blanket. And it’s been a staple in my film collection since the first moment I watched these characters come to life.

Edna.png

“I never look back darling, it distracts from the now”

Final movie but no less important.

lego movie

The Lego Movie

The Lego Movie came out 10 years after the Incredibles, so I was well into adulthood when I saw it in 2014, also known as the Year of Chris Pratt’s career explosion. The biggest struggle in my life at that time was trying to find the fun in becoming an adult. On a day off from work in the midst of March I decided to go to a movie theatre just to escape the dregs of my routine at that point. I was working a job I was not satisfied with, and was in fact slowly growing to dread,  I was becoming an adult and learning that that came with a series of responsibilities that I wasn’t sure I was ready to handle all of them. On top of that there were authority figures in my life telling me how to handle the world, how to follow the rules and the order of things that had to do to be considered successful. And I was tired of it. I was struggling to figure out my life, and I needed relief. And then I spent two hours reliving the highlights of my childhood.

Emmet

Basically me in Lego form.

The Lego movie spoke to me. It opened my mind to the kind of wonder I hadn’t experienced in years. Life in the form of pure endless custom fun. I spent years when I was young playing with Legos. I built worlds in the stars, ships, buildings, and characters who have still played roles in stories I created later in life. The world of the movie was a straight journey into my childhood mind and it took me away from all the worries I was facing. And that was the first takeaway I had. Sometimes there is nothing wrong with putting off responsibilities in order to relax once in a while. No one can do everything all at once. You need breaks, moments to enjoy the world around you. If you don’t enjoy the world then there is no point to living in it. Don’t work so hard that you miss the things around you. But the movie then takes a dramatic turn in the 3rd act that absolutely shook the foundations of my world.

Will-Ferrell-in-The-Lego-Movie

This one.

The moment the movie steps back and we see that the whole movie actually IS a child’s fantasy. And then his dad comes in and gets mad because the kid is ruing his perfect models and creations and all of his work. But then he realizes that the perfect Lego sets are not what they were designed to do. They were designed to grow and change and be re-purposed. And that’s what life is about. We made and gather resources, not to show them off and marvel at our own good work but to pass on what we have learned for those who come after us to use and innovate. And when we work together the things we can do are even better than what we have done alone. It’s about connecting and I feel, especially in the current world, we have forgotten how to connect with each other, especially across generations. We hear stories about how millennials, Gen X, Baby Boomers, Traditionalists, etc are ruining the world. But we find that when we work with each other there possibilities are endless.

lego batman

Easily the 3rd best movie Batman.

But the major takeaway was that I didn’t have to follow the system, I didn’t have to do things the way everyone was saying I did. I could work AND pursue passions if I put the time into it. I could do all the things in my own way and I was not on the path those people who told me the “right way to do things” was when they did things. The world is something to be customized to work for us. We can make things to meet our visions and don’t have to follow the system when the system doesn’t work for us. The world is ever changing and we should be able to lead that change, not get swept away by it or overlooked when it doesn’t fit who we are. There is nothing wrong with being a unique and wonderful individual and we can fit into whatever mold lets us do that. I left the movie knowing that my life would be able to improve and within 3 months I was in a new job, within 6 I was married. And though everything hasn’t been perfect, I know that the choice to follow my own path and not move within the system that wasn’t working for me, allowed me to create a much more satisfying life for myself in the end.

lego-movie

In summation: Everything is Awesome!

So there you have it! These are the lessons that animation taught me. And now I’d like to know the answers from you. What is one animated film that impacted your life and what lesson did you learn as a result. I know I don’t usually ask for feedback but for this one I am really hoping that you let me know because I feel like this one is much more important than my usual posts. I’d like to once again thank Mikey Neumann for spreading this wonderful idea, and ultimately all of you for sharing this journey with me.

So, I guess all that’s left is thanks. Thanks for taking the time to get Ploominated.

 

Leave a comment